My experience on how to overcome burnout

I want to share my story and solution for overcoming #burnout, and this will be a lengthy text.

·

4 min read

My experience on how to overcome burnout

I found myself in a dire situation for a year, lacking motivation to engage in anything. I faced a multitude of challenges, including immigration issues, disinterest in my previous job, inability to find work in my field, and the daunting prospect of starting from zero again. Stress compounded with anxiety and reluctance to move forward plagued me as I encountered bad news daily. However, I realized that the only person who could help me was myself.

While each person may struggle with different issues, burnout is a universal experience, and everyone needs to find their own path out of it.

To get myself out of this situation, I established two routines: a fixed routine and a temporary one.

My fixed routine is geared towards achieving my long-term goal(s), while my secound routine serves as a coping mechanism for when I feel exhausted and on the brink.

My first step was to disconnect from negative sources, such as news channels, to shield myself from constant negativity. While it may seem selfish, but being alone in a foreign country without familial support means I must prioritize my well-being.

Here is my solution:

  • Evaluate Your Workload: I set a challenging yet achievable goal within a specific timeframe (a year) by breaking it down into a monthly, weekly, and daily plan to reach it. I avoided overly detailed hourly schedules, as I believe they are stressful. Instead, I focused on completing two or three significant tasks each day without the added pressure of strict time constraints.

    For example, my daily tasks might include watching three tutorial videos, completing exercises, engaging in Litecode practice, and reading a few pages of relevant documentation. This approach allows flexibility while ensuring progress. At the end of each month, I make sure to review what I've learned or what I might have missed.

  • Take Breaks / Take Time Off : I made time for rest (this is the part of secound routin) and daily exercise, such as a 1 hour walk, to prevent burnout and maintain physical well-being. It's crucial for remote workers to avoid becoming sedentary and prioritize self-care. try to not to become household items (like chair 😄 )

  • Recognize the Signs : Recognizing the importance of rest, I take days off when feeling overwhelmed to recharge and prevent burnout. Early detection is key at this stage.

  • Seek Support : I allocate time for social interaction, whether on Twitter or with friends, to exchange ideas and stay updated. Participating in initiatives like #100DaysOfCode keeps me motivated and connected.

  • Prioritizing Quality Over Comparison: Quality content matters more to me than follower count. Comparing oneself to others breeds insecurity and contributes to burnout. Instead, I focus on my own progress and don't worry too much about what others think.

  • Balancing Act on Social Media: I try to be active on social media without being too quiet or showing off too much. Being real and connecting with others in a meaningful way is more important to me than being popular.

  • Seek Professional Help : I seek help when needed and value the support of my community.

  • Filtering Feedback: I don't pay much attention to haters. Sometimes they say things that are true, but they say them in a hurtful way
    I try to turn their valid criticism into opportunities to improve myself. But sometimes, it's necessary to block them to avoid wasting your energy.

  • Strategic Time Balance: Prioritization is key to managing time effectively. If a goal requires more time, I adjust my schedule accordingly while staying mindful of balance.

  • The Miracle of Consistency: Being consistent and sticking to my plan is more important than innate talent.

  • Self-Care : overcoming burnout requires self-awareness, resilience, and a proactive approach to self-care. By implementing these strategies, I strive to not only recover from burnout but also prevent its recurrence.

  • Set Boundaries: Learn to say no to additional responsibilities when you're already feeling overwhelmed.

Burnout is a serious issue that requires attention and care. Ignoring burnout or trying to push through it can lead to more severe consequences in the long run. Prioritize your well-being and take steps to address burnout proactively.

Your turn: What strategies do you employ to combat burnout and maintain your well-being?